Posted by: Miriam | 28/03/2010

Experimentation

So I have decided I like to cook. I dislike recipes though, since I always have to go get something from the store. Not only is that a pain in the ass, it is a huge deterrent to following recipes. So I use these recipes as more ideas or starting points. Mostly I try to use up leftovers, like rice or quinoa or veggies that are needing to be eaten. Being on a low glycemic index/load and gluten-free diet, I also have to get creative.

I think I have done pretty much everything you can to rice. One week I baked pre-cooked rice with vegetable soup and veggies (it smelled like vegetable soup to me but people really liked it). One week I made turmeric fried wild rice with zucchini and carrots. I’ve made simple rice dishes with spices, onions, garlic and carrots – all cooked together. This week I played around with a frittata-esque dish. It got rave reviews so I figured I’d put it on the interwebs for time in memorial.

All measurements are guesstimations at best.

1.5-2 cups cooked white or brown rice

When I cook my rice, I make it with garlic, veggie broth and extra virgin olive oil (EVOO). I usually spice with some mild chili and dill           or basil or some combination like that.

2 eggs

White cheese (I used cheddar, but Parmesan, farmers, jack, or what have you will work – I wouldn’t recommend orange cheeses as that is 1) dye and 2) will make the dish orangeish)

1/4 white or yellow onion

1-2 cloves garlic

1 head broccoli, or mid-sized zucchini

Mushrooms (if you got ’em)

Dried spices: chili pepper flakes, basil, dill, cumin, salt, pepper

Bread crumbs (gluten-free, glutenated, whatever you can use and have)

Ok now that your kitchen counter is covered in seemingly random objects its time to start cooking. Preheat oven to 350ish.

Mince onion and garlic, saute on stove with EVOO, salt and pepper until onions become opaque. Remove.

Add rice and cooked onion-garlic mixture together in mixing bowl. Mix.

Add 2 eggs and continue to mix.

Grate some cheese, amount will depend on how much you like cheese. Add said cheese to your mixture.

Add spices, but make cumin the predominate spice (be wary of over spicing though, cumin is strong). And mix.

Add chopped broccoli. Use stems and florets. Chop stems and florets in small pieces.

Guess what, mix it again.

Scoop out mixture into a glass pie pan.

Pace in oven. Wait 15-20 minutes.

Pull out of oven, grate cheese on top, put back in oven for 5-10 minutes

Repeat, but add bread crumbs and then a bit more cheese and pepper, place in oven until cheese melts.

Nom when warm, but you could probably do this when cold too. People were surprised that it was just rice as the base, as it became softer and mushier when baked with the egg and cheese. At dinner it was the only dish to be completely consumed this week. Go me!

Note: you could add some more protein with some calamari, salmon, or another egg or 2.

Leave a Reply

Categories

